Good Stuff from 2005

Last week, I read and watched two overlooked gems from 2005.

Let me start of with the comic book Spider-Man – Human Torch.

Spider-ManHumanTorch1

This is a 5-issue limited series which features the adventures of Spider-Man and Human Torch and their ever growing friendship. I have known of this book for a long time, but I didn’t really think about reading it until I read the Amazing Spider-Man #689-681 which featured a Spidey-Torch team-up. I enjoyed that story a lot that I remember my friend John (who is an amazing artist) told me to read this book a year or two ago.

This book tells the story about their friendship throughout different eras of Spider-Man’s history. From the high-school years, to Gwen Stacy’s death, Black Costume Spidey, up until Peter became a school teacher. It’s filled with a lot of funny gags that will make you laugh, and touching heart-warming moments that will make you love these characters more.

If you’re a Spider-Man fan, or a Human Torch fan. You should definitely read this book. It’s so good, that I could not help it but wear this big smile while reading it on the morning bus. I can’t believe how good this book is, and not that many people know it exists! So if you can find a copy, make sure to read it. I think it’s the best Spidey/Torch book out there, and they should try make this into a TV series.

Bonus moment:

spider-man human torch #5(2)

Now, the other one I would like to talk about is the movie Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, with Robert Downey Jr. and Val Kilmer.

poster_1280

I have only learned of this a few months ago, but all the things I’ve read about it are good things, so I thought I might as well check it out. This is also the directorial debut of Shane Black (Lethal Weapon, The Last Boyscout, The Long Kiss Goodnight)

He was this guy in Predator

The movie stars Robert Downey Jr. as Harry, a small-time thief, who gets himself trying out for an acting gig while evading the cops. He then get’s acquainted with Val Kilmer, who plays Perry, a private detective who’s tasked to to give detective lessons to Harry for his upcoming role. They then get tangled into a murder mystery which involves Harry’s high school dream girl, Harmony, played by Michelle Monaghan.

It’s a comedy/crime/noir film which has quick smart dialogues accompanied by an intricate plot which does not fail to entertain you as the movie happily plays Harry’s misfortune one after another until they solve the big mystery.

I actually have not heard of this back then, and it’s a shame that not a lot of people know about this movie. Downey and Kilmer’s acting, and chemistry, in this movie is so good, I think it made Marvel decide to cast RDJ as Tony Stark. And now that Shane Black slotted to direct the third Iron Man movie, it just proves how good this movie is.

Bonus moment:

KissKissBangBang_leggyslove1375

Now, time to find more good old stuff to consume.

Leave a Reply

